Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought over the world. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Recently, food waste has been increasing worldwide. In my opinion, this is largely due to stores discarding lots of unsold items and individuals over-purchasing grocery items. To address this issue, both shops and individuals should alter their behaviour. One of the major factors in food loss is merchandise disposing of excessive unused products, even when they are still safe to consume. The lack of marketing management skills might cause the excessive amount of disposed items. In particular, the famous convenience store, Family Mart, has succeeded in reducing food loss by as much as 1,000 kg a year by improving storage management and analyzing the data of which products are more likely to be purchased in a certain area. Therefore, managing storage and collecting consumer data is crucial to tackling the food waste issue and this is the part that should be promoted across the world. Secondly, over-purchasing grocery items at once connects to food loss. For instance, in my country, younger adults don't have enough time to go to grocery stores more than twice a week because of over-working hours. Therefore, 78% of people answered they buy significant amounts of commodities at once; however, most of these goods spoil and are discarded. A survey reported more than 1 ton of food has been disposed of from livelihood. To deal with that, individuals should make a list of items that they actually require and consider the portion before heading to the stores. In conclusion, I am adamant that the increased food loss is caused by businesses and individuals. To solve this, they both should care more about the food waste they bring about and alter their attitudes.