You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that governments should pay for healthcare and education, but others disagree with this opinion. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The forthcoming American president election has put the issue to the front again of whether governments should be responsible for healthcare and education expenses. From my perspective, this is the inherent duty of governments, while the extent to which governments can share the responsibility with their citizens needs to be thoroughly examined. Before expounding on the reasons for involving people in paying for healthcare and education, I would like to explain why these are primarily government's duties. According to Hobbes, the writer of Leviathan, the only reason that governments can utilise to justify their existence is that they ensure the welfare of people who agree to renounce part of their freedom and submit to governments ' regulation. In the 21st century, welfare definitely includes education and healthcare, and hence citizens have every reason to ask their governments to pay for relevant expenses. More compelling than a political theory is the practice of many European countries, for illustration, France, where the government covers over 60% of healthcare costs and almost all education expenses. Therefore, I insist that governments must pay for healthcare and education expenses. Nevertheless, to governments, this duty must be limited for otherwise, they are likely to collapse. Governments have many functions, like defending territory, and protecting their citizens ' safety, which all take resources. For this reason, if they invest excessively in education or healthcare, other basic needs can not be met, which can result in serious consequences. Sri Lanka is a compelling example. Its government poured the amount of funds that they could not afford into the welfare system, leading to the bankruptcy of the national bank in 2022, which further provoked large-scale riots. Therefore, it is reasonable that governments invite people to share the cost of education and healthcare. To summarise, it is government's inherent duty to provide healthcare and education to their citizens at a relatively low cost. Nonetheless, in order to ensure governments can operate well, it is also reasonable for governments to shift parts of education costs to people.