Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mass tourism is widely present in the contemporary world. However, despite many individuals taking advantage of what it offers, it is often believed that it has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. I partly agree with this thesis and claim that it has both pros and cons. Tourism has significant benefits for visiting states. First and foremost, it improves their economy. In poorer regions of the world, a huge part of the society lives from tourism, which means that they provide accommodation, food, and entertainment for tourists, thus, travellers have a positive impact on the visiting country. Furthermore, there are many different types of tourists - to illustrate, for instance, backpackers are the people who try to get involved and help the society they visit. Not only do they sightseeing, but also often teach English in local schools, take part in work camps, and, most importantly, respect the community that hosts them. On the other hand, relevant drawbacks of mass tourism are presented too. The most significant of them is interrupting the everyday life of residents. In places such as Venice, Italy or Paris, France, a massive influx of travellers can handicap the lives of local people, who suffer from crowded streets and high prices. In addition, most tourists do not really care about the natural environment of visiting places. Consequently, travellers can often contribute to the pollution of beaches, forests, and water recipients. In conclusion, I partly agree with the statement that mass tourism has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. Tourists can contribute to the pollution of the environment and the handicapped lives of local people. In contrast, however, they also can boost the economy of visiting states as well as positively influence the hosting society in the form of workcamps, and English lessons.