Increasingly, many young people are deciding to work or study in other countries. What are the causes of this phenomenon? Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

The topic under discussion is nowadays it has become a commonplace for the youth to study and work overseas instead of in their own country. This ‘brain drain’ phenomenon has gaining popularity as compared to how it was, before. This essay will explore about various reasons behind the phenomenon and the implications to individuals as well as the nation. First and foremost, people opted to study and work abroad to gain invaluable experience and transcend their knowledge. To explain this, undergraduates are expecting a place where they can hone their skills and acquire latest upgraded knowledge. As for example, in science and technology, more developed countries such as Australia, United States and United Kingdom are countries of choice where people choose to migrate due to the availability of the resources in this area. Turning to the next point, the youth is also looking forward a better salary overseas. This can be attributed to the rise of inflation worldwide. Hence, one can barely survive the minimal wages for daily expenses in their own country. Therefore, difference in currency justified their choice of residing not in their country of origin. Next, studying or working abroad has its own advantages and setbacks. Ultimately it can be a career saving decision of an individuals to foster their career growth. People can upscale their skills with available resources abroad. Consequently, it is also a loss to a country. To produce an expert in a field, a long and tedious process is involved together with financial investments. Losing experts will mean the need to import professionals from other countries and this is not cheap. In conclusion, the reasons involved in people migrated overbroad be it to study or for employment’s purpose include upskilling and knowledge reinforcement and for better income. Positive effect for individual is positive career growth while negative effect of country is loss of experts in particular field. Raising incomes, increasing employment and entrepreneurship are few solutions that the government may need to consider.