(VMN)Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, government should focus on reducing environment pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that environmental pollution and housing are major problems that the government should invest in to reduce illness and disease. I partially agree with this, for an accelerating level of pollutants as well as crowded buildings make illness more widespread and serious regardless of the fact that the medical advancement of technology should rather be focused on promoting public health. On the one hand, the growing environmental destruction and housing problems should be tackled by the government since they seriously affect the well-being of people. In other words, the damage has already reached a point beyond the control of humans, as illness spreads faster and poses more severe effects. For example, the increasing level of CO2 and harmful chemicals such as nitrogen emitted from transports and factories causes more breathing problems, especially for seniors and children. Thus, the government should concentrate on this issue since it is also aggravated by the congestion of housing, which allows the spread of infectious diseases faster, preventing people from having a healthy life. On the other hand, progress in medical fields should be encouraged to reduce health problems for people because of their direct impact on healing pains and other symptoms. Indeed, medicines are created to kill a certain virus which is the very cause of severe headaches and continuous coughs, making people suffer for prolonged periods of time. To illustrate this, a pill called Megicon is known to be highly effective in ameliorating coughs and fever, which allows people to control various symptoms. Therefore, the government should invest more in medical treatment so people can recover from serious diseases more easily than other methods. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that governments should first solve environmental and housing issues as diseases spread faster and people show harsher symptoms. However, medical advancement is significant for people to control diseases more effortlessly.