Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. discuss both views and give your opinion.

A number of people argue that they allow permanent retributions for every kind of criminal action. While others are of the opinion that the situations from each person's evils and interests for perpetrating it should be considered when making a decision on the penalty. This essay will discuss both these perspectives and offer my personal views on the issue. One obvious reason for giving fixed punishments is that they create consistency and fairness in the legal system for everyone throughout the country, which serves a strong law fundamental. This reason can make a number of individuals become aware and prevent them from taking dangerous actions due to the fact that they must think twice before doing it. For example, if someone knows that committing a robbery will put them in jail for 10 years, they will consider their action before doing it. On the other hand, those who prefer to consider an individual’s circumstances when a crime occurs believe that the person is not guilty of the crime as the person does not have any motivation to do such acts; he is just in the wrong time and place when it happens. For instance, a man who accidentally kills a robber who is trying to stab him to seize his money or personal belongings does not deserve the same penalty as someone who kills another person with a structural plan that they have already made previously as he does this as a self-defence. In my view, both two statements have the same purpose, one of which is to give fair punishment to criminals. However, I prefer to choose a permanent punishment because whatever the reason is, a crime is still a crime and someone cannot bring back the victim’s life when it already happens. In conclusion, while fixed punishments ensure clarity and fairness, the consideration of individual circumstances and motivations allows to support human rights and a fair legal system.