More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that increasing the price of junk food can prevent obesity. I completely disagree with this view because wealthy people can still afford this and it is better to provide education to people about their health. Increasing the price of unhealthy food will not work because wealthy people can still buy it and gain weight. People who are extremely wealthy, especially doctors, lawyers and engineers, make very high salaries, and they can afford any food they want, including pricey snacks. Plus, wealthier people can share this food at parties with their neighbors, friends and family, which will give even more people access to this food. For example, my father is a wealthy business owner and is not deterred by the price of any food. He spends money on lobster, seafood, steak and other expensive menu items at fancy restaurants; as such, he could easily buy expensive fattening food. Raising the prices of unhealthy food is also ineffective because it is better to educate people about healthier options instead. I would recommend educating students in primary school; therefore, they can make healthier choices, like fruits and vegetables. In addition, adults can be educated in community programs by professionals designated from the government. In my personal experience, in Spain, we have different programs to teach individuals about the difference between healthy and unhealthy products and how they can modify their diets and make better decisions in the right direction. As a result, Spain has a much lower rate of obesity than countries like the United States. In conclusion, I completely disagree that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve obesity because wealthy people can still afford them and health classes are more effective.