In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is controversial whether illegalising to exclude certain applicants on the basis of their age is a positive or negative development. In my view, this is a progressive change. In this essay, I will support my thoughts and make a suggestion at the end. On the one hand, it is reasonable that some employers prefer certain age groups. To be specific, some jobs can be unsuitable for old people or young people. For example, for construction jobs that require heavy lifting all day, young and healthy men would be a better fit than older people. Similarly, young individuals might not be prioritised for a director position if it requires many years of experience. On the other hand, there is a different opinion that believes a ban on excluding young or old people from hiring is positive. The main reason is that employers can discourage a person's potential. For instance, young people can be quick learners and competent. Also, old people can contribute to a company by giving innovative perspectives. If a company fail to consider these factors, not only they will lose their potential asset, but they will limit an individual's full potential as well. Another reason is that rejection on the basis of age is a type of discrimination along with sexism and racism. Despite the equal human right to work, if an employer skips an applicant due to their age or other factors regardless of their competence, it will lead to a toxic culture in the industry and affect some people's well-being. In addition, their decisions will reinforce the wrong stereotypes of young or old members of society. In conclusion, Although a few industries favour a particular age group due to the requirements of the position, I believe excluding these workers can affect many individuals and their companies in a negative way. Moreover, more countries should implement a prohibition on age discrimination in the workplace to protect everyone's fair right to work.