Some people claim that public transport should be free of charge, while others disagree. Do the advantages of free public transport outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a debatable issue whether authorities should charge for using the services of public transport or not. Although I believe that using public transportation without any charges has numerous benefits, its negative effects can not be overlooked. On the one hand, this trend not only prompts the usage of public transit in cities but also reduces the number of private vehicles on the roads. Moreover, it further helps to control pollution as well as traffic. For example, a bus can transport around 50 people at a time whereas the same number of people use around 40 to 50 cars to travel from one place to another. Apart from that the financial burden of transportation expenses can be eliminated through such initiatives, especially for the poverty-stricken. Hence, they can use those savings to fulfil their basic needs including food and medicines. On the other hand, this initiative may impact the budget allocated for other facilities like health services, education, infrastructure development and many more as it demands a huge sum of money for maintenance, gas expenses, employee salaries and other aspects. Furthermore, governments have to improve the services of public transit to meet the demands of the citizens which may put an extra burden on the budget of government. In addition, it is a challenge for authorities to maintain a quality and high standard without any user fees. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that free communal transport is good from the environmental and traffic perspective, but it also creates a situation of financial instability.