We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalist. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

Some people believe that we can obtain knowledge from reading the news, but some argue that journalists are not trustworthy. Personally, I think news is the best media to learn as it displays what issues are occurring at the present. Although there are some bad journalist, there are also many successful ones that are well-known, especially for their bravery. News is one of the best learning media because it has the power to open up the reader’s mind about what is happening right now. The reported issues may attract public awareness, creating an open-minded and critical society. For example, there was a case in 2023 about an injustice shooting of a police officer by his commander. The media reported the case to the public a few weeks after the incident happened and it had caught the eye of almost every Indonesian citizen at the time. As a result, justice was served. A successful journalist must be brave enough to uncover the facts. In a world full of controversy, one truth will stand out among other lies. The readers will trust the author of the article more. Therefore, they will be eager to read more of the upcoming news that is soon to be published by the journalist. For instance, Najwa Shihab is an Indonesian journalist renowned for her courage. She had unveiled a controversial report regarding the luxurious privileges possessed by prisoners who were previously caught due to corruption. In conclusion, news is a great platform to obtain a lot of useful information regarding issues that are currently occurring. Moreover, a successful journalist is one who is not afraid to report what is right.