The most important aim of scence should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Bill Gates, the founder of Microsoft, once remarked that the advance of technology is based on making it fit in so that you don't really even notice it, so it's part of everyday life. Therefore, science, per se, has made us what we are, master of the universe, ranging from control of fire at first to state-of-the-art technology, e.g., airplanes and AI. These technologies have led our lives to become more comfortable and safe. Admitting that it is a matter of relativity of how we consider the most significant purpose of science, the answer varies from person to person, depending on the value systems or the personal traits. All in all, I agree that the most essential target of science is improving our lives for two reasons as follows. First and foremost, computer science, especially the internet, has drastically made our lifestyle and communication more convenient. In today’s information society, people are able to communicate with others all over the world through the internet. Besides, the internet enables us to catch the news on the planet immediately. Therefore, these evolutions have encouraged our social activity to be more energetic and contributed to creating a well-being society. Second, but not less importantly, it is not too much to say that the ultimate aim of medicine is saving patients from every disease and maintaining our health, i.e., this target directly matches the question statement. For example, diagnostic equipment, such as X-ray imaging systems and MRIs, enable us to identify the cause of disease and conduct early treatment. Thus, people are able to stay fit than before. That having been mentioned, I would like to hasten to add that there are disadvantages due to developing technology, for instance, global warming. These problems are caused by human greed to pursue our benefit. In conclusion, I believe that the most important purpose of science is improving our lives, while we must not forget that we are one of the creatures living on the earth.