Once children start school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often thought that teachers have a greater influence on the intellectual and social aspect of children once they begin going to school. I completely agree with this statement as teachers teach them how to sharpen their intellectual skills as well as build relationships with one another. Firstly, teachers may educate or discuss topics with students that require them to generate ideas and think critically. For example, a debate may take place in the classroom, allowing students to express their reasoning and understanding on certain subjects. Through such activities, teachers are able to observe the way they think and help them in areas of weakness. In addition, parents are not always free to focus on improving the intellect of their child, but instead, prioritise showing love and care towards them by looking after them. Furthermore, most of the time that children spend with their friends are in school where teachers are able to monitor their social interactions skills. If a teacher notices that a child lacks the skill to interact with other pupils, it is their job to help them in that aspect. Moreover, children do not often spend time with their friends at home, therefore, parents do not have the opportunity to notice the social life of their child. In conclusion, learning takes place in school within the confines of the classroom, where a teacher is able to understand and observe the way a child thinks. As well as that, the social development of children is mostly done in school where the majority of their friends are. Both the intellect and social advancement of a pupil is greatly influenced by a teacher, as in both of these situations, a teacher is present.