Some people say that the main environmental problem of our times is the loss of a particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that the extinction of species of flora and fauna are important environmental problems, while others think that other environmental issues require more attention. Although the loss of species is affecting our ecosystem, I believe that climate change and pollution are more pressing as they are directly connected to the extinction of species. On the one hand, the ecosystem is directly affected by the loss of plants and animals. This is because all species play an inevitable role in maintaining ecological balance as they contribute to the food chain, and once a species is gone it would imbalance the cycle. For example, a decrease in bee population threatens pollination which is essential for numerous crops and the extinction of predators like tigers and wolves would lead to an overpopulation of some species and habitat degradation. However, the ecosystem is interconnected to climate change and pollution. On the other hand, climatical changes and pollution not only cause species to go extinct but also affect every aspect of life on earth. This is to say that rising temperatures, extreme weather conditions and pollution such as air and water are posing a threat to the existence of living organisms. For instance, glaciers are melting due to global warming which is resulting in the rise of water levels, and these circumstances pose a threat to plants, animals, humans and other species. I therefore believe that environmental issues should be tackled as they will naturally bring the ecosystem to balance. In conclusion, the extinction of species is connected to other environmental problems like climate change and pollution which should be alleviated as they will help to maintain a ecological balance.