Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause stress, and how can we reduce it?

Technology, per se, has made us what we are, master of the universe, springing to control of fire at first to state-of-the-art inventions, e.g., computers and aerocrafts. Although these technologies have dramatically made our lives more convenient and safer, modern society has been more stressful for many people. Admitting that it is a matter of relativity how we may think the main factor of stress, the answer varies from person to person, depending on the value systems or the countries. All in all, I believe that the most significant key is the development of communication tools. First and foremost, I reckon that modern communication devices could cause conflicts with others. For example, the latest equipment and platforms, such as smartphones and Instagram, enable us to easily access and get in contact with people all over the world, whereas we often make misunderstandings about text messages and comments, caused by no facial expressions or background information of their owners. Therefore, the users find society or relationships uncomfortable, and as a result, many people feel stressed. Secondly, but not less importantly, I suppose some solutions to address the problem. A number of research studies show that it is effective for relieving stress, so we take time for exercise, like jogging. Indeed, sports make it possible for our bodies to reduce hormones, which make us have negative feelings, for instance, anxiety and sadness. In addition, meditation allows us to improve our mental health thanks to controlling our breath. Hence, physical exercise and meditation save us from a hectic life, alleviating our stress. In conclusion, the Westernised lifestyle compels us to be constantly exposed to communication with others and requires us to deal with them. Exercise and meditation are some of the most promising methods to tackle this problem. That is my view.