Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the government should invest money in railways instead of roads. I agree with this point of view because railways are more environmentally friendly and also play a role in economic activity. Firstly, funding railways encourages green travel. Improving roads may result in an increase in private car use. However, the government builds more railways, subways, and tram lines to improve the environmental quality because subways, trams and trains have much more capacity and therefore, much lower per-capita carbon emissions than private vehicles. Also, more individuals will perfectly choose them rather than private cars as their main vehicle. In addition, railway networks are very crucial for economic activity. With these networks, railways connect different cities and even countries, and goods can be delivered fast and cost-effectively. For example, the China-Europe Railway Express, which moves cargo containers from China to London ranges from 15 to 20 days. This is roughly half the transit time of an ocean container, the cost is cheaper than using roads or planes. This means railways help goods be shipped in time at relatively low costs for any other promotional activities that take place in the UK or there is a low-cost source from consumption for Black Fridays. Although road transport is also effective, it cannot match the speed of railway transport, making railway infrastructure an important investment for boosting economic activity in those countries. In conclusion, government spending should be on railways rather than roads because railway services encourage a friendly environment and they play a big part in economic activity.