Companies that use fossil fuels should be taxed more than companies that use green energies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that industries using fossil fuels should be entitled to pay more tax than the ones using natural resources. This essay completely agrees that companies should be charged greater taxes, as they contribute to air pollution and global warming. Firms heavily reliant on fossil fuels should be levied higher taxes due to their contribution to air pollution. That is to say that these companies mostly rely on coal, oil, and natural gases for energy, releasing pollutants like carbon dioxide (CO2) and sulfur dioxide (SO2) into the atmosphere. For example, in countries like China and India, coal is still the main source of energy, resulting in an exacerbation of air quality by forming smog. Therefore, higher tax tariffs should be subjected to these carbon-based fuel industries. Besides that, corporations’ dependence on fossil energy accelerates the problem of global warming. This is because the combustion of fossil fuels releases greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide, which traps heat in the atmosphere, and thus leads to global warming. For instance, Duke Energy, a major electric power company in the United States operates many coal-fired power plants that burn coal to produce electricity resulting in significant carbon dioxide emissions. In conclusion, I believe that industries reliant on fossil energy should be obliged to higher tax tariffs because they are responsible for the degradation of the environment by exaggerating the problems like global warming and air pollution. Thus, imposing higher taxes on fossil fuel-dependent companies would be a great incentive taken by authorities.