Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The primary focus of publicity is to enhance sales of goods which was believed by some individuals, although people do not really need these campaigns. It is necessary to improve the sales of a company so that it can sustain itself; however, the creation of public awareness is badly needed by exposing real facts through advertising to the people, so, I partially disagree with the statement. To begin with, in this contemporary world, it is true that businesses are becoming more and more competitive than a decade ago. As a result, companies usually go for publicity campaigns as they need to grow their overall sales. However, in different parts of the world, it is mandatory to raise social awareness among the citizens along with their product advertising. For example, in Bangladesh, a company would give an advertisement about oral saline which enabled people to raise awareness among themselves and eventually helped them to make the mortality rate almost zero per cent due to diarrhoea. In addition, citizens particularly in the third world countries do not know what foods are really needed in their daily meals. To solve this issue, a product campaign is the best idea suggesting why individuals should take their commodities in their daily meals, and what they will gain after consumption. For instance, in the Horlicks campaign, the company tried to compare by using different graphs with and without eating Horlicks that enabled people to make their children taller, stronger, and healthier. In conclusion, it can not be denied that the principal aim of an organization is to sell products through advertising, however, at the same time, they raise public awareness of different products which helps them to be a health-conscious person.