In recent years, there has been an increasing trend of people from cities buying second homes in the countryside. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people from cities are purchasing houses in the rural areas. Although there are some benefits, as it can be a good source of generating passive income, I believe it offers more disadvantages because it results in an increased cost of living for people who cannot afford a single house. The main advantage of buying another house in the countryside is that people can raise money by renting that property. This is because they can offer higher prices to rent their houses in towns and set a consistent passive earning source for themselves every month. For instance, it is commonly known that properties in small towns are cheaper in comparison to urban areas, therefore by making single-time investments people can generate life-long passive earning sources. However, I believe that there are more drawbacks to this trend regardless of benefits. Higher living costs are one of the main drawbacks of buying another house in town. That is to say that the demand for purchasing houses increases as people buy more properties, but the availability of land decreases. This makes the situation worse for those people who cannot even afford to make a single purchase due to high mortgages. For instance, in Canada, it is recorded that in 2024, housing costs broke all the previous trends and touched the sky which made it harder for people even to rent a house, as rental prices were going too high. Thus, for this reason, I think that this scenario offers too many disadvantages. In conclusion, while money can be generated by buying another house in small towns that can prove to be advantageous to some people as a passive income; however, I believe that there are more drawbacks because living costs increase in the cities which is not affordable for other people.