As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike, leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable that advancement in the ways of commuting and communication plays an important role in spreading the phenomenon known as globalisation on Earth. Some also worry that their own culture will disappear as a result of it. I believe that as society adopts global trends, traditions particular to each culture are at risk of fading away. Firstly, globalisation weakens cultural identity through the influence of Western culture which is much more popular among young people nowadays. The spread of Western fashion, food, and culture often dominates local traditions. Therefore, they are more influenced by foreign trends and may find it easier to connect with international stars rather than to their old heritage which causes potential harm eroding their cultural identity. For instance, it is easy to see men and women wearing jeans, skirts and crop tops instead of their cultural clothes such as sarees and dhotis. Additionally, the similarity between products and services worldwide decreases the uniqueness of local goods. However, international products have much more varieties and are less expensive rather than goods found locally. Consequently, People become attracted towards foreign articles. As a result, communities may lose pride in their unique creations, contributing to the loss of cultural identity. Also. language, a crucial aspect of cultural expression affected by globalisation too. As English becomes the widely spoken language here on Earth which replaces many old linguistic groups and by this native languages face the risk of destruction. To conclude, although globalisation promotes an easy exchange of ideas and practices and provides an opportunity for culture to develop and adapt to a more interconnected world, it threatens the safety of cultural identity.