In today’s society people tend to buy many things and throw them away even though they can still be used. What are some causes of this behaviour? What are some effects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that globalisation provides individuals with numerous choices that allow them to purchase as many goods as they want even if they do not need them. However, buying without thinking can them to throw away their brand-new goods. This essay will analyse the reason behind this behaviour with its impact on Earth which I will explain in further paragraphs. To begin with, the causes for discarding new things away. Firstly, social media tends to play a crucial role in encouraging people to buy the latest products and discard the older ones as in modern society it is important to follow trends for maintaining their social status. Similarly, marketing and advertising teams do their best to sell their products and make them addictive in front of an audience. Moreover, manufacturers often design products with shorter lifespans to encourage repeat purchases which is known as planned obsolescence. This causes consumers to throw away items that are no longer functioning. For instance, shaving tools can only be used once or twice which significantly contributes to increasing the sales for the company. However, talking about the effects of wasting products. The first and foremost impact is on the environment as the products discarded by individuals are often made up of plastic which does not decompose even after 20 years. Therefore, to get rid of all this waste companies tend to throw all that in oceans which again puts marine species in danger and makes them extinct from planet Earth. It is observed that 45% of waste is thrown in water bodies only which becomes the reason for the extinction of 25 plus species of water animals. To conclude, it a widely said that every action has an equal reaction which is true in every sense as the things which we are throwing today are becoming the reason for making our own planet inhabitable.