Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling plays an important role in today's lives as we produce more and more litter these days. While there are ongoing debates about whether it is the only way and the role of governments to enforce more laws for people to force them to recycle their debris, I strongly believe that it would not be enough for two compelling reasons. To begin with, improving public education about different environmental topics can be more effective than just maintain order. Simply put, when people are aware of the downsides and upsides of recycling, they will be encouraged to do that more and more. For instance, you cannot force students to recycle their notebooks and paper staffs just by some laws because in this way they might obey rules and act rebelliously. However, fostering the impacts of recycling on our environment by making creative content and showing its merits can be more useful. Furthermore, providing more facilities and visible ways to recycle waste materials is important. It means that by putting more recycling bins in public areas and establishing more domestic recycling sites, people would be motivated to use that infrastructures repeatedly. Take using glass bottles instead of plastic ones as an obvious example. The more companies provide their products in glass packaging, the more people have the opportunity to mitigate the usage of plastics. In conclusion, although some people believe that the only way to enhance recycling is by enforcing strict laws by authorities, I once again restate my opinion that it would not be enough. There are better ways to foster the habit of reusing such as improving public education and providing useful facilities and infrastructure for doing that.