Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people.Why is this the case?What can be done to attract local people?

One of the most significant concerns today is that more tourists visit historical attractions and museums than the local people do. In the following paragraphs, causes leading to this phenomenon will be discussed and possible solutions to this trend will also be presented. To begin with, there are predominant reasons resulting in the above mentioned problem. First of all, history lessons are mostly boring and do not usually catch student’s interest. The more theoretical and impractical those lectures are, the less youngsters are likely to pay attention to their country’s history. Another thing that leads to this is because people have to pay costly entrance fees despite the sites remaining unchanged over the decades. Discounts are offered only during special occasions, while there are no changes or developments made. Therefore, the locals might be under the impression that they have known enough information about their hometown. However, there are particular measurements that can be adopted in order not to worsen this scenario. By far the most obvious one is that the governments can encourage residents to visit these sites by requiring free of charge for children and elderly. Secondly, schools can promote this by creating trips and extracurricular events going to museums and historical places. As a result, there will be a combination between learning and observing the value and art. In conclusion, the tendency of tourists visiting historical sites has happened as a result of the aforementioned reasons. Nevertheless, it is a pressing need that solutions should be put into practice to entice domestic visitors.