Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so. Which option works better for you and why do you think the other option is not viable to ensure a successful study time?

Music undoubtedly has a significant role in different aspects of human life. One of them is about listening to music while studying. Some argue that music has a calming effect, nevertheless others prefer silence when doing any assignment. In this essay, I will talk about both points of view and give my opinion. On the one hand, it is said that our brains release dopamine whilst listening to music which makes a person happier and relaxed. Of course, this helps students calm down and relieve their anxiety, as well as be more productive and get better results. For example, the research conducted by Tsinghua University in China in 2013 showed that 82.3% of students who listened to music whenever they prepared for the exam got higher scores in comparison who didn’t use music in their preparation. On the other hand, music is generally stimulating and keeps the brain dexterous. In that case, trying to concentrate on something important is completely hard. That’s why, it is said that we need a silent environment when doing a problem-solving or memory recall task. For instance, in 2015 one group of teenagers were put in a room with background music and another without music and were given a problem-solving task. 38% and 93% of the exercise were true respectively. In conclusion, I tend to agree that music has positive effects and advantages in our study, however, if it is used in the right time with the right task, in other words, it depends mostly on task type.