Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence? Write at least 250 words.

The debate about whether genetic traits or life experiences have a more significant influence on personality and overall development has long intrigued researchers. From my worldview, I will argue for a latter perspective, and this essay will shed light on my point of view. On the one hand, I argue that the characteristics we are born with just partially affect our personality and development. Genetics play a significant role in shaping various traits, such as temperament. Some children may inherit a more even-tempered or calm temperament, while others may have a more anxious attitude. Besides, genetic traits can also influence specific talents, such as musical ability, or artistic creativity. For example, some individuals may have a genetic advantage when it comes to muscle composition, which can contribute to athletic performance. However, external factors, like social environment, have a drastic influence on people’s overall development. For instance, a child born with a genetic characteristic for a calm temperament may be affected by their upbringing, social interactions, and life changes, which can reinforce or alter this personality. Similarly, children with innate intellectual ability can continue to thrive or underperform based on the educational and social environment. In a nutshell, even though innate abilities play an essential role in providing foundation, and can influence traits like temperament, or talents, life experiences have a profound impact on how these traits are developed and expressed.