Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Agree or Disagree)

Due to the rising demand for personal vehicles, many people suggest that the government should invest more in upgrading roads and motorways instead of public transport systems. In my perspective, I partly disagree with this statement, therefore, this essay will provide an overall view of both circumstances and the reasons. On the one hand, I believe that spending expenses on improving the street's quality can help to enhance the traffic's circulation. In other words, many citizens use cars and motorbikes as the sole means of transport, therefore, the government should expand the street to minimize the traffic congestion. For instance, in Ho Chi Minh, the street is always crowded during peak hours due to the large amount of personal transport, this problem results in uncomfortable attitudes among citizens and workers in the city. On the other hand, I agree that enhancing public transport is essential to ensure the movement of workers and citizens to be better. Specifically, the developed public transport can help to reduce the number of cars and bikes on the street. To illustrate, Ha Noi established a metro system in 2020 which was reported to decrease the considerable amount of vehicles on the street. Moreover, shared transportation contributes to the decline of urban pollution. According to many studies, public transport helps to control the carbon emission which is mostly created by cars and other types of transportation. To sum up, many advocates regarding spending money on streets and motor path lines. However, I believe that citizens should treat public transport as a better alternative to travel to work due to the several advantages it brings.