Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

If we go back twenty or thirty years, we can see that in almost every neighbourhood people used to know each other very well and spent a lot of spare time together, doing various activities. However, it is apparent that nowadays the old tradition of communicating with neighbours is somewhat lost in modern society, especially among young adults. What has changed over the years? First of all, a lot of adults nowadays live a very high-paced life, so in many instances, they physically do not have time to socialize not only with their neighbours but with their close circle of friends and relatives as well. Secondly, many people have a lot of mental problems, like depression and severe anxiety, that prevent them from properly communicating with others, further developing a sense of fear, asceticism and alienation. Furthermore, the environment itself, especially in big cities, has become very hostile, and many individuals are just afraid to talk to strangers in general. Having mentioned the reasons behind the shift in people's behaviour, now it is important to suggest ways to change it. For example, visiting a psychiatrist can significantly improve an individual's mental state, and as a consequence, they will be able to step out of their comfort zone and communicate with others much more freely. Additionally, if authorities organize communal works in the neighbourhood on a regular basis, over time it will inevitably build a sense of comradery among the participants. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is crucial to restore communication with neighbours. Humans are social creatures by nature and a sense of community is a building block of not only a healthy lifestyle but the entire mankind in general.