Write about the following topic. It is sometimes said that ‘travel broadens the mind’. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

These days, the number of people travelling overseas is increasing dramatically. Travellers are said to be more open-minded than those who stay in their local area. I strongly believe travel and delving into the unknown can have a positive impact on the public´s mindset. In this essay, I will explain my reasons why. The first point to consider is that digging into new societies can provide citizens with a wealth of knowledge from a cultural, religious and political standpoint. When people travel, they come across international citizens whose different mindsets and innovative thinking can be an inspiring foundation for tourists' personal and professional growth. For example, Darwin was an astonishing biologist whose visit to the Galapagos Islands inspired his creation of the Evolution Theory. His work was a turning point in the Biology field because he broadened his mind by leaving his nation. This highlights the importance of leaving our comfort zone to dig into the unknown. A further consideration is that travellers have the great opportunity of coming across with innovative technological advancements which can increase the quality of their lives. The world is undergoing rapid changes, resulting in societies with different levels of digital progress. These populations benefit from the convenience, flexibility and interactivity which technology offers, thus, areas with a high digital development can impress tourists from underdeveloped populations and change their view towards these advancements. Consequently, travellers become more open-minded and they feel more adventurous to focus their new useful digital knowledge on their daily routines to gain more comfort in their lives. To sum up, there is a significant upward trend in the proportion of people with travelling habits. This decision can open the public´s mindset as they come across innovative thinkers and new convenient digital advancements which can be applied to their daily routines.