Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

In these modern days the lifestyle is decreasing in bigger cities hence two main reasons, the first reason is the air pollution and the second is the insecurity. This essay will discuss the two mentioned reasons and possible solutions for them. Firstly, the bad quality of the air is due to the use of fuel fossils. Pollution has been the first cause of the bad quality of citizens´s lives because people prefer to use cars and buses as transport modes. One measure to this issue could be the creation of new government programs, that foster to use of other modes such as bikes. For example, Bogota´s major has developed a program in which citizens can not drive cars in one day, they should choose only a bike or foot for going to their destination. Secondly, the unsafety in cities decreases the quality of life. A burglar in the street or the danger that a citizen might experience at night does not help to live, because individuals have to take a real risk for their existence. One solution for this problem could be the implementation of drastic rules for people who act of insecurity in the streets, it might give a safety sense. For instance in Roma, which has the highest proportion of thieves in Italy, the burglars have to be in jail for three years for only a robbery, this has helped to city´s security. To sum up, using fuel fossils and the lack of security has been the main causes of a bad style for the living of families, however new programs for implementing transport media that do not contaminate the environment and rules for increasing security are solutions to face the issues.