Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some argue that the health of people could be worsened by staying in big towns. I strongly agree with this argument because there are many factors why it is better to live in urban areas such as pollution and diseases. On the one hand, while big cities offer better career opportunities and economic stability than urban cities, there are also drawbacks to these facts. Better career opportunities mean there are a lot of companies that open their offices in big towns, especially in the capital city of the country. This will make many employees have to commute to work and spend most of their time on the road, increasing air pollution caused by the transportation used. Hence, it will create some health problems such as TBC, influenza, as well as cancer. For example, as per the BBC news, Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, have the highest rate of traffic jams and air pollution compared to all cities in the world. On the other hand, rural cities usually have better environments and air quality. This is because not many people and firms live there, thus there will be fewer people commuting or driving on the road. It will significantly reduce air pollution and increase life quality. For instance, a recent study shows that people who live in urban areas have longer years of life above 80 years old on average. This is caused by a better environment and happiness. In conclusion, pollution and diseases are among the factors that could determine people's health, whether to live in big cities or in urban cities, as it also bring different benefits to some individuals respectively. I believe people should consider transmigrating to smaller towns despite the plenty of opportunities in big cities considering the possibility of some health problems.