Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of significant expenses on universe discovery has become a strongly debated topic additionally, the opinion that taxes could be spent on other needs of society is becoming stronger nowadays. I believe that countries should continue to fund exploration of the unknown around the earth. So in this essay, I will discuss why I hold this viewpoint. The first point to consider is that many breakthrough technologies were discovered in space. There are multiple examples of useful findings which are working now in medicine, networks and even our homes. For instance, a microwave oven, computer tomography and the latest generation 5G network of cell phones. All these new technologies open new opportunities for us, despite some of them have not been implemented in practice yet. Another argument which votes for continuous budgeting of space exploration is the danger of collision with asteroids and the destruction of the magnetic field of the earth due to giant storms in the universe. It has been proven by many researchers that all dramatic and relatively fast climate changes were caused by the falling of foreign objects from the sky, Moreover, many people right now are suffering from abnormal behaviour of electromagnetic fields affected by the sun. While some people argue that the probability of facing a fatal asteroid is relatively low and we still have not got valuable results to fight the global magnetic destruction, research should be continued to be prepared for the worst-case scenario. In summary, there is always a problem for governments how to allocate the budget right and space exploration does not seem the right choice. While there are some negative arguments to spending money on it, the pros like the new technological discoveries, the protection from asteroids and a better understanding of the magnetic storms outweigh them. Personally, I would say that despite the fact that sometimes it is not easy to implement new discovery in practice we should continue to fund the exploration to move forward.