A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

In the modern world, several people strongly believe that many countries around the world rely on tourism as a primary source of income. However, this dependence can lead to problems if not managed effectively by the government. When it comes to my standpoint on the provided matter, I agree with it for numerous reasons, which will be discussed in detail in the forthcoming paragraphs with a sensible conclusion. To begin with, one of the grounds behind my agreement with the issue being examined is that the travel industry has numerous advantages. To support my perspective, I can say that when international travellers visit a country, it creates a wealth of job opportunities. For instance, to support facilities such as accommodations, restaurants, local cuisine, tour guides, and other services, new employers and job positions must be established. Moreover, a well-developed tourism sector attracts both tourists and investors, significantly contributing to the economic growth of a region. As a result, the leisure industry can be recognized as one of the main financial pillars of a country. However, touristry does have its drawbacks. To support my perspective, I can say that the more visitors attend a particular destination, the local environment can suffer. The example vividly illustrates what I mean in a real-life situation that occurred to me recently is that Thailand experiences a high volume of travellers annually, leading to the construction of numerous hotels and restaurants. This expansion greatly diminishes the surrounding natural environment. Furthermore, the rising number of visitors is often a major cause of environmental pollution in these areas. Studies have demonstrated that as the number of tourists increases, so does the volume of waste generated. This poses a financial and logistical burden for local communities regarding waste management and recycling. Overall, I agree with those who believe that the leisure industry has a positive impact on economic development, though it also negatively affects the ecosystem. Therefore, even though the holiday sector presents some negative aspects, I believe that with effective management by the authorities, it can be developed into a vital revenue-generating method for a state.