In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is argued that in several states, having a house is more important than renting it. This essay believes that having a house prompts better security of tenure, and this essay thinks that this is a positive development, as tenure security is crucial to ensure the well-being of residents. By owning a house, people are more likely to have better levels of housing security. While many believe renting a home is significantly cheaper, the additional cost which someone is paying to own a home is pivotal in providing a secure, well-protected home. This is because full ownership of a home means higher levels of legal status, which could be very crucial to secure residents' well-being in the future. For instance, many Indonesian citizens prefer to borrow money with high interest rates from banks in order to buy homes, rather than just renting them. This is because they believe by owning a home, they will have a more secure home for their future. A more positive outlook towards buying a house than renting it is a positive development because this means better legal protection for residents. Several countries, such as Indonesia, do not have any legal provisions regarding house renting, as a result, most renters are in a very precarious state. That is to say, having a house serves as one of the measures to protect people from having to deal with such situations. Even at times when relocation is inevitable, owning a house could mean better compensation. For example, in Indonesia, when houses are going to be demolished for infrastructure development, individuals with full legal entitlement over their houses are entitled to a higher compensation price compared to those who do not have full ownership over their houses. To conclude, this essay thinks the phenomenon in which many individuals prefer owning a home rather than renting one happens because numerous individuals are trying to secure their housing rights. This essay believes that this is a positive development, because this could protect individuals ' rights over their house and well-being.