All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity and how could it be tackled?

Nations worldwide are dealing with the ever-increasing issue of obesity. The primary cause of this issue stems from the over-consumption of fast food which could possibly be solved with the implementation of a government tax on fast food. One of the focal reasons that is leading people to become overweight these days is that they are eating more junk food, ready meals and convenience food rather than cooking healthy meals at home. This is because many people tend to lead a busy life, and after a long day at work it is easier to just buy inexpensive ready meals in the supermarket or get some takeaway. For instance, in the UK, sales of these types of foods have risen considerably since the 1990s, this is due to busy people seeing cooking at home as time-consuming while also being attracted to the price point offered. To tackle the ease of accessing unhealthy foods, the government should take steps to increase the tax on high fat, high sugar or unhealthy foods altogether. The rationale behind this concept is to take the already affordable, yet damaging food and put it into a category of luxury foods with the price alone. By implanting this change, society and individuals would be forced to look at healthier alternatives, perhaps even being encouraged to cook at home and ultimately those at risk of obesity would therefore think twice about the foods they consume, which could lead to them losing weight. In conclusion, being overweight is a global issue because of the high consumption of fast foods, convenience foods and the low cost. The government needs to look at taxing fast food so as to push the populous towards nutritious foods if there is to be hope for tomorrows future.