Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problem are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or an negative development?

In this modern era, it is becoming more common for people with medical issue to try non-conventional treatments rather than to visit regular doctor. I believe that, this is a negative development because it lacks scientific evidence and comes with the potential for misleading information. Firstly, many alternative medicines don't have enough scientific backing. Unlike conventional medicine, which is based on research, alternative medicine often lacks evidence. Furthermore, this can lead people to be misguided and potentially harmful. For example, without proper knowledge, some traditional herbal drugs have side effects that are not well-understood and can be poisonous to take. Hence, this practice cannot be the main option in healing people because there are risks involved and well-being is not something to play with Additionally, because of its traditional nature, there is no official institution to control the information about the practice of these complementary therapies. This may open up misinformation to get spread out, especially with the rise of the internet and social media. This can mislead individuals, especially those who are desperate for an instant solution. For instance, many unlicensed practitioners on social media promote their so-called "alternative medicines" to uninformed individuals who seek out an easy way to cure their disease. This influencer targets those who conduct self-diagnosis before they go to a professional doctor. As a result, their condition may worsen and making it more difficult to treat. In conclusion, while it may be easier to access, non-conventional treatments should not be someone's primary care because it is not scientifically based and also can lead to misleading information.