Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In our modern day and age, people use social media platforms and online communication to stay in touch with their families and friends while others believe that the use of such methods of technology has caused some individuals to drift away. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and give my opinion. It can not be denied that social online applications and video calls are important means of communication and they help people stay connected despite their busy life schedules. Moreover, Nowadays, more and more people seek better studying and working opportunities away from their hometowns and they can not have a physical conversation with their loved ones and check on them every now and then. However, using platforms such as Facetime and Instagram makes it easier to exchange the latest life updates. For example, most of my family and friends live in Saudi Arabia where I reside in Spain, and we have weekly long video calls which have helped us to stay in touch despite we are thousands of miles apart. On the other hand, excessive use of technological gadgets and long exposure to short and rapid online content have caused a negative impact on our attention span and social skills. Furthermore, the continuous urge to check online updates has affected productivity and quality of communication. For instance, during a group dinner most people have their phones on the table and every now and then someone would pick their phone up to check a message or send a picture and disconnect from the rest of the group for a few minutes. In conclusion,modern communication tools are an essential pillar of our lives nowadays. However, as with everything in life, they should be used in moderation and to serve our needs rather than overindulging in such activities.