In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no denying the fact that, teaching our children the principle of persistence is a crucial thing. While it is a commonly held belief that we should tell them that they can do anything if they work hard, there is also an argument that opposes this idea. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, when we tell our sons that they can do anything, this will increase their self-confidence. In other words, they will have a strong belief that nothing is impossible because they have the ability to achieve their goals. In addition, this idea could make children try their best to get the result they want. For example, in the great inventor Thomas Edison's story, his teacher told him that he was a failure student and kicked him out of the school, but his mother had a different opinion. She supported him and encouraged him to learn, and finally, he became one of the greatest inventors. On the other hand, telling children that they can do anything all the time may make them unrealistic. It is also possible to say that we should explain to them that they need to have a plan and certain concrete steps to achieve their ambitions. Moreover, this idea will make children impulsive and incapable of planning for their future in a particular way. For instance, if your son wants to be a doctor, you should explain to him that achieving this goal requires him to study hard and have determination. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that nothing is impossible but diligence, commitment, and good planning are necessary to get a desired result.