Today many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons for it? What are the effects of this trend on individuals and society? ​​​​

It can be observed that nowadays people spend less time in their homes. The main reason for this is smaller houses. Also, this can have some negative effects as well as positive ones. The population of the world increased significantly over the decades. Due to the increasing population, a housing problem has occurred, and this led to smaller houses. In order to create living space for everyone, the concept of home has changed. Back in the time, home was a place with many rooms, a square, and probably a garden. This much space made it possible for people to create rooms for their needs such as living rooms, offices. However, nowadays homes got smaller and nearly only have space for a bedroom and a kitchen. This leads humans to spend more time and look for opportunities outside. One of the positive outcomes of this trend is its contribution to the economy. Due to a lack of space, everyone tries to find needed spaces outside. For example, small boxes are very popular for working instead of big offices that are located in homes. Even though, it has positive impacts, negative effects can be seen too. Homes used to be relaxing and safe places where people desire to spend time. Nowadays it is just used for sleeping. Since, homes lost their use for relieving stress, humans search for possible replacements outside. However, finding a replacement outside is nearly impossible, since the outside is the main reason for stress and anger. To conclude more time is spent outside rather than home due to the reduced size of homes. Even though positive outcomes for the economy are very important, the effects on people's psychology should not be underestimated.