The best way to increase road transport safety is to make vehicle drivers take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, some argue that an annual driving test is key to improving road safety. While it is believed that such exams will refresh the knowledge of drivers, I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I will elaborate in the following essay. On the one hand, proponents of this debate reason that in addition to a refreshment of road safety regulations, drivers will also be less reckless, due to the fear that their licenses can be provoked. Moreover, yearly exams will help correct drivers ' poor driving habits (such as drunk driving), encouraging better practices. These factors are claimed to be crucial in regard to reducing road accidents. On the other hand, I believe that there are further problems that need to be addressed, should such tests be conducted annually. First of which, there exist concerns about how more experienced drivers would cooperate. In their minds, it would be a waste of time and resources, considering the amount of time they've spent on the drive. Frankly, it would almost be an insult to them. Secondly, there might be significant financial and logistical challenges in implementing an annual driving exam. Regulators would have to allocate more land (which can be costly/difficult in urban areas) and pay supervisors in order to organize the test. Furthermore, alternative solutions, chiefly increasing penalties for traffic violations, raising the minimum driving age and focusing on road infrastructure, can prove valuable in enhancing road safety. To conclude, although it is tempting to agree with the affirmative side, I firmly believe that there are other methods and directions regarding mitigating traffic accidents.