Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the prevalence of mobile phones, mitigating dangerous information is one of the major challenges which makes governments interested in accessing cell phone data. While some argue that call records and messages should be accessible to governments for safety concerns, others believe that such private information should only be accessed by permission. This essay will discuss both perspectives and present my own opinion. On one hand, given any security threat, governments sometimes need to access call logs and texts on people's phones. These measurements are taken to ensure the safety of citizens. For example, if there is any threat of terrorism, accessing information shared by the wanted individuals is crucial to mitigate any incident. Therefore, based on the intelligence, security agencies need to access data on mobile phones to plan their operations and take the necessary steps. On the other hand, some people are not comfortable with governments accessing private information on their phones. Phones are excessively used for communication and data sharing such as texting with friends, and exchanging family photos. So, for instance, if security agencies have access to this data then it violates the privacy of those people. Thus, it is also important to respect the privacy of citizens. In my opinion, should a situation arise for the government to access mobile phone data, they should ask for permission. The moral and ethical code of privacy should not be breached. However, if there is a serious threat to citizens' safety then they can access the information of suspects. In conclusion, although it is important for governments to access cell phone data in certain situations, they should always be mindful of the privacy of individuals. They can access the call logs and messages with consent, unless there is a threat of terrorism or national security.