Some people believe that reading is always a good habit. Others feel it depends on which books a person is reading. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are supporters of the stance that reading is always something positive. However, some argue that whether it is positive or not changes depending on what kind of book is being read. In my opinion, the latter is true for a few reasons. Admittedly, all kinds of reading stimulate the whole brain which strengthens memory. For example, there are a number of studies proving that individuals from societies with higher literacy rates are less likely to suffer from sicknesses that are linked to loss of memory. However, not all books are published with good intentions. For instance, there are books that promote negative values such as racism or hateful speech towards a group of people. Obviously, reading these kinds of publications cannot be accepted as good behaviour. It is undeniable that, choosing books that specifically help one to improve himself or herself is clearly better than reading any book. For example, a person reading a story full of puzzling situations may try to solve those situations which they would not have otherwise been in. Therefore, their brains are more ready to solve complex issues which they face during their daily lives. Furthermore, choosing the right book for yourself means you are more likely to finish the book, since you will be invested in the subject that you are reading. In conclusion, even though there are favourable effects of reading books such as helping with memory loss, reading the right books helps a person to evolve individually and have more interest in finishing them.