More and more people buy and use their own car. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals overweigh the disadvantages for environment?

The trend of owning a vehicle keeps increasing these days. Many people argue that this event brings harm to the environment. In this essay, I will discuss its benefits and drawbacks before stating my opinion. Overall, I believe that it is important to keep the balance between the number of private vehicles and its environmental impact. First, having a private car creates comfort and convenience for the owner since it can be more reliable than public transportation. Private vehicles can be used all the time so people can decide where and when to go. For example, when we are in a hurry, waiting for a bus might be a bad decision because it has an uncertain schedule which can delay our arrival. Moreover, by using their own car, citizens do not have to worry about not getting a seat or being in a crowd. However, the growing amount of cars raises concerns about its surroundings. To start with, cars emit carbon dioxide and other toxic substances which pose a risk to citizen’s health. For example, long exposures of these emissions can lead to respiratory infection and even lung cancer, especially for vulnerable groups like the elderly and children. Furthermore, carbon dioxide emitted by vehicles is also one of the main causes of global warming. The gas traps the heat from exiting the atmosphere thus increasing the temperature on earth. To sum up, car ownership might be convenient for its proprietor, but, on the other hand, it is harmful to the environment. Unlike public transportation, private vehicles are accessible at any time and provide comfort for their passengers. In my opinion, car ownership should be limited so its damage to the environment can be controlled.