In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

For some countries, students tend to pursue their degree in university located in their hometown, while for some others countries the students tend to do the opposite. In this essay, I would argue that pursuing a degree in another city has some advantages that outweigh its drawbacks. The main advantage to attend university in different city from your hometown is the opportunity to experience new things you have not before. You will get new experiences from living at city different from your hometown, it might be learning new cultures and encountering different people from various social background. For example, back then I learn a lot when I did my undergraduate program at Yogyakarta, while I am from Jakarta. I had learned about Javanese language and culture, and I also encounter many different people from around Indonesia with their different customs and culture. While pursuing your degree at different city might offer the advantage I stated above, there is main drawback that need to be considered. Pursuing your degree at another city will make you live far from your familiy, and this could lead you to feel homesick or missing your hometown and your family while you at the another city. This homesick feeling could lead to a feeling of loneliness. This could be serious if not anticipated well and could impact your academic performance while you are pursuing your program. But, I believe this drawback could easily be solved. The feeling of homesick could feel less painful if you are busying yourself in your new environment, such as hanging out with your friends or join some extraculicular activities at your university. The advancement of technology has also made this problem not a big deal. If you miss your family or your friends at your hometown, you could simply call them to ease your feeling. In conclusion, I argue that living away from your hometown to pursue your degree has its advantage that more important than the disadvantages. The opportunity of learning new things could make you as a better knowledged person, and the problem of missing you family and your friends could be easily treated by making you busy enough and also still connected to them by digital communications.