Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, the approach of using traditional methods of treatment has grown over the alternative of visiting doctors. While traditional methods have proven to be successful in some ways, I believe that following modern science must be the number one choice. To begin, throughout history we see numerous attempts to overcome physical illness via spiritual and religious beliefs and methods, whereas some of these attempts succeeded, and the majority failed and led to even more devastating results. For instance, the shaman in Asian history, who is a person with great knowledge and wisdom and is believed to have connections to the other world, has caused a lot of problems physically and mentally when trying to treat illness. This is because he uses certain plants and ingredients that have no relation to the suffered disease but in most cases worsen it. Furthermore, convincing people that a spirit has altered their body might cause an existential crisis and disbelief. On the other hand, other than usual healthcare services, some ways have proven to overcome illness without the doctors’ intervention. For example, recent studies have shown that the “placebo effect” is real. The placebo effect works on convincing the patients’ brains that they are being treated with real medicine when actually they are not, simulating the brain to treat the illness automatically. Despite the scientific acceptance of this method, going to the doctor should be our number one choice, as some diseases, such as cancers, get worsened if left untreated over time, leading to devastating results and worsening symptoms. In conclusion, whereas seeking professional medical care must always be our first option, we cannot deny the positive effect of certain unprofessional yet scientifically proven treatments.