Some people believe that schoolchildren should be made to wear a uniform. Others feel that children should be free to choose their own clothes. Discuss both sides of the argument and say whether you agree with pupils wearing uniforms. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Are school uniforms really necessary? Some people argue that wearing school uniforms is a must, while others believe that it is just a restriction keeping young children away from expressing their personalities. In my opinion, children need to keep wearing the uniforms, as it teaches them important lessons that will become vital for them in the future. The main point brought up during this argument, supporting the importance of uniforms, is the fact that it simply teaches pupils to follow rules. At this age, it is essential for children to learn that rules are to be followed; learning that ensures they will be able to function properly in the society once they grow up. Furthermore, having all students wear the exact same clothes can be a form of equality, as not all students are well able to afford fancy or expensive clothing items. When discussing the other point of view, not needing to follow a certain dress code allows the students to express their individuality, giving them the sense of freedom. Although one might argue that expressing your unique personality can be done in different ways and there is no need to break the dress code, for instance, the way you act, the way you talk, or what hobbies interest you, can be a loud indicator of your unique personality. To sum up, whether wearing a uniform is obligatory or not differs depending on the school. Despite providing the pupils with a sense of freedom, which can be important, my take on the matter supports keeping a dress code, as I believe they teach students valuable lessons that they will benefit from as they grow older