In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are countries where it is normal to have the first child at an older age. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon, whether the pluses of this decision outweigh the drawbacks and provide a logical conclusion. First of all, the main reason for this development is the level of prosperity of a household. When people are older, they are more likely to have a higher salary than young individuals because of the acquired working experience. For instance, in European countries, the amount of money employees earn depends on their time spent working for a company. Thus, they think that it is more possible to afford a brighter future for their children. Moreover, raising a baby requires larger life experience which only oldsters have. Mature parents can teach their kids a lot more useful knowledge and skills that are crucial in everyday situations than young ones. For example, a close friend of mine who is a junior often claims that his father told him more useful things than his older son because he just knows more about the world now than in his 30s. Consequently, individuals decide to give birth to a child later because they suppose that they will be mature and experienced enough for that. Turning to the advantages of starting a family later than usual, I can mention that seniors usually have more money. They are more likely to have a higher income or some deposits. To illustrate it, I can say that a lot of my classmates have fathers or mothers who are 40 or 50. Their families are more flourishing than the younger ones because they have more money. Hence, children from such households have enough resources for their needs and have more opportunities in life. However, the minuses should also be taken into consideration. Kids often quarrel with their senior relatives because of the big difference in age. Individuals from different generations usually have a lot of conflicts. As an example, my cousin's mother is 40 years older than her and they have nothing in common. They have completely different systems of ideas and interests, so they are always arguing because they do not understand each other. Nevertheless, such problems can be solved by just talking more to one's parents and having personal borders. To summarise, there are several reasons for this. They can be economically or personally determined. Even though this phenomenon has its disadvantages, the pluses definitely outweigh its minuses.