Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practice traditional medicine claim it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

In some countries, traditional medicine seems to be popular, since many apply it as an alternative way to maintain and improve their health, instead of referring to modern medical treatment. However, this essay firmly opposes the view claiming that the traditional way is more effective than the modern one. Here are some reasons I suggest. Traditional medical practices have a few disadvantages. Firstly, it contains the lack of responsibility. People who rely on this method when they get sick are likely more prone because they have no insurance as well as guarantee to sue the therapist. Otherwise, it does not apply with professional doctors because they require a license to treat patients carefully. So, people should not be worried about their health, if they get medical care in hospitals. Furthermore, it is hard to measure the effectiveness of the curing regarding the traditional treatment, especially when people get serious illnesses like heart attack, cancer, or other severe diseases. Herbal remedies and acupuncture, for instance, have their limits to solve it, and may provide a thin immunity for people with these suffering conditions. However, this improvement is not far from just a suggestion given by the therapist, therefore the age of the treatment effect is temporary. In contrast, modern medication is far better in order to make sure that patients will be treated properly. No matter how advanced the illness people get, doctors in hospitals always attempt to improve and save their patients’s lives through a rigorous medical system. In conclusion, it is hard to believe that traditional medicine is more effective to maintain and improve people ’s health. From my perspective, modern medical treatments have a lot of benefits for humans.