Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sweet food and drink are hazardous to health and some people think that price of the products high in sugar content should be increased in order to reduce the consumption. This is not a valid suggestion as it can cause more negative problems. Firstly, when the price of sweet food is increased in the market, it will make people excited. This would mean that when there is a restriction on certain products, individuals will get curious and desire to try it by hook or crook. For example, is censorship. It is very common for people to watch censored movies or films nowadays. Besides, this approach also can lead to wrong behaviours and some people will make use of the situation by taking advantage of other people. In Malaysia for instance, the government increased the price of cigarattes in an effort to reduce smoking but the result is shocking. In fact, more people turned to vaping which is more disastrous than smoking cigarretes and even created a new job called vape dealer. Additionally, when access to sugary food is deprived, many people will fall into a state of depression because they cannot get the food they enjoy. Studies also have shown that sugar is more addictive than drugs. Increasing the price of sugar is not beneficial because people would not care about their money and would want to get the product to satisfy their cravings. In conclusion, raising the price of sugary products will do more harm than good to society. There are other approaches that can taken taken such as educating society on healthy food choices.