Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that some laws have been imposed to limit the time that employees spend at work. This essay will discuss the reasons behind issuing these laws by governments and whether they are positive or negative rules. To begin with, there are several reasons that make governments to introduce these laws to limit working time for staff. One of them, is the fact that it is the government's responsibility to impose laws which save employees ' rights to have a work-life balance. In other words, maintaining this balance will affect individuals' well-being and mental health in a long term because it lets them spend more time with their families and friends. For example, studies have shown that there are huge benefits to limiting working hours because it helps people to have some rest and recharge, which makes them willing to work hard. In terms of the positives and negatives, limiting working hours offers benefits to society. It is possible to say that it gives employees a sense of equity and limits the power of employers. In addition, the employees will no longer feel like they are under slavery conditions. For instance, in my country, the government has imposed several laws in this regard, especially for labours that are working under hard conditions like those who spend a lot of hours exposed to the direct sun and high temperatures. And this saves their lives and gives them better work conditions. As a result, this act is considered as a positive development. In conclusion, there are several reasons for issuing laws for limiting working hours and one of them is because of the responsibilities that governments should take in order to get better lives for people. It is also true that these laws have huge benefits for individuals.