Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, strict punishments for driving offences are important in order to reduce traffic accidents. However, others, including me, believe that other measures would be more effective for road safety. On one hand, there are several benefits that strict punishments can bring. Penalties for dangerous drivers can be a deterrent, so people avoid repeating the same offence. There are various types of driving penalties, such as fines, licence suspension, and even prison sentences. The main aim of these punishments is that they show dangerous drivers that their actions have negative consequences for not only themselves but also other people, in road accidents. So, in this case, strict punishments can be an effective way to punish those drivers and make them more disciplined and alert, and that they follow the rules carefully. On the other hand, there are other ways to calm traffic accidents. It is essential to educate people vitally, before giving them a driver's licence. It can be done in schools or other courses. From a very young age children should be taught to be careful when travelling by car or other transport means. Moreover, more attention could be paid to better road designs. Warning signs and extending roads can be effective. For example, in Uzbekistan, roads are very narrow which can contribute to accidents with cars. Additionally, in remote areas, there are insufficient traffic lights and road bends. As a result, many road accidents take place and frequently happen. In conclusion, while strict punishments can help to reduce traffic accidents, in my view it is essential to consider other measures, such as improving road design and adding necessary signs to warn drivers.