Some people think that educating people about the problems of eating too much fast food has no effect and that other measures should be taken to tackle this issue. What is your opinion?

It is argued that teaching individuals about the negative outcomes of overconsuming fast food is useless, and other methods should be taken into consideration. I think that such education will definitely have a positive impact but other solutions ought to be also taken. Educating people about the intimidating consequences of junk food could be a viable method, as it will enlarge public awareness. In fact, most population do not know such results, and,without proper education, they would not be enlightened about such topics. With government programs and activities, which will promote this information, people can effectively integrate healthy diet and restrict themselves from junk food. After the massive campaign organized by US authorities in 2014, for instance, the population consuming junk food dipped dramatically from 47% to 34%. However, education alone is not effective in tackling this problem, and government intervention in the prices of food is really important. In most cases, individuals are compelled to purchase fast food, as their prices are significantly lower than healthy ones. Therefore, the government have to provide incentives for food manufacturers which produce safe meals, so they can lower the prices for their commodities. This way food that is completely safe would be much more available for society. In the US, for example, it is easier to buy fast food, which might cost around 5-10 dollars, rather than a harmless meal, whose price can probably reach 35-40 dollars. In conclusion, fast food has a detrimental effect on communities, and this can be resolved through government regulation of the prices of food products and raising public awareness about the negative consequences of that.